Gert-Jan van der Wel

Hey! My name is Gert-Jan van der Wel. I'm 41 years old, Dutch, married and have three little kids. I co-founded Floorplanner and I'm currently transitioning from running the technology dept to the sales dept. In between family and work, I like to ride my road bike whenever I can.

Here I share what I'm up to and working on at the moment. I aim to update it every few weeks. If you want me to send you an email whenever I wrote something new, you can sign up here.

Tree House

hobby - 07 Jul 2018

I built a tree house in our garden for our kids. It’s actually more of a house-next-to-a-tree than a house-in-a-tree but who cares about those tiny details, right? Looking back, it took a lot more time and wood than I initially thought, but it was good fun building it using only a handsaw and cordless drill for the screws. It’s also funny that you look at the world differently when you are building something yourself as I noticed this kind of wood paneling on the facade of an old Dutch farm when visiting it with my kids.

I built the house in the back of my garden with the idea of moving it later to its final destination, but that turned out to be a bit more difficult than anticipated because when I was done it weighed a ton. Luckily a few of my friendly neighbors wanted to help me out and with the four of us we moved it to the right place. I don’t think I’m going to paint the tree house as I like the natural color, but I might paint the roof to keep it waterproof - being a good Civil Engineer.

The school summer vacation starts next week and I hope the kids will actually use it. Otherwise I’ll just get the WiFi working in the back of my garden and turn it into a hideout for myself.