Gert-Jan van der Wel

hi@gertjanvanderwel.com

Here I share what I'm up to and working on at the moment. I aim to update it every few weeks. If you want me to send you an email whenever I wrote something new, you can sign up here.

Cycling in Spain

hobby - 17 Aug 2018

This year I spent my summer vacation with my wife and three little kids in the south of Spain. We stayed in the towns of Almuñécar, Granada and Nerja and we visited many beautiful beaches, ancient castles, cute villages and even got to see the magnificent Alhambra. I also got to make two wonderful rides while my lovely wife entertained our kids in the swimming pool during the time I was away.

The first ride was from Almuñécar to the north in the direction of the Sierra Nevada and although it was only 60 km long it gave me a pretty hard time. The track ran up a mountain for 30km - from sea level up to 1200 meters high - and back down again. The views were truly amazing but my Dutch legs were simply not used to all the climbing. The second ride was 70km from Nerja to the north west passing the stunning mountain village of Frigiliana and had two climbs in it; one of 400 meters high, and one of 700 meters. It was a bit warmer this day but it went slightly better, probably due to all the Spanish food and drinks of the previous days 🥘🍺😎