Gert-Jan van der Wel

Hey! My name is Gert-Jan van der Wel. I'm 41 years old, Dutch, married and have three little kids. I co-founded Floorplanner and I'm currently transitioning from running the technology dept to the sales dept. In between family and work, I like to ride my road bike whenever I can.

Here I share what I'm up to and working on at the moment. I aim to update it every few weeks. If you want me to send you an email whenever I wrote something new, you can sign up here.

Cycling the Ardennes in Belgium

hobby - 07 Jan 2019

I spent the first few days of the new year in a chalet in the Ardennes in Belgium with my family. My wife and kids were free from school until the end of the week, so I took a couple of days off and we all headed south. After making our deadline of releasing the new Floorplanner website, I could also use a little break.

I took my road bike with me as the Ardennes are an amazing place to cycle. The Netherlands is flat - really flat - and the Ardennes are quite the opposite with roads only going up or down, but it’s never flat. I enjoyed the 70 km ride with 1100 altimeters a lot although it was a bit cold from time to time - especially down hill - as it was nearly freezing.

At the end of last year I noticed that I cycled 10% less in 2018 compared to the year before, but I did make a few wonderful rides in Silicon Valley, Andalusia and Mallorca. One of my New Year’s resolutions is to get back to riding 3000 km a year again and if possible at beautiful locations.